Search & Find  
advanced search  
April - 2019
  01 02 03 04 05 06
07 08 09 10 11 12 13
14 15 16 17 18 19
21 22 23 24 25 26 27
28 29 30  

ad hoc Working Group 3 : Building Integrated Photovoltaics


The Working Group on BIPV is rooted in the conviction of the EU PV Technology Platform that the large-scale deployment of photovoltaic system will require the transition from a mainly technology-driven approach with focus on the solar cell to a more application oriented focus. Building-integrated PV-systems (BIPV) instead of the Building-added PV-systems (BAPV) is a prominent example of this evolution where a system point of view will lead the development and commercialization efforts. Moreover, it is a sector where, by definition, local content is high which opens numerous new opportunities for a European-based industry and service deployment, supported by the ambitious targets of the European Union in relation to the energy efficiency of buildings.

The aim of the workgroup is to define more clearly status, needs and benefits of BIPV and to translate these into well-defined R&D-objectives.

Main activities

The general approach followed in the BIPV-workgroup starts from a parallel activity looking both at collecting bottom-up information from the actors in the field on realized projects, best practices, existing design tools and missing links and coupling it with the top-down high-level directives of the European Commission and the Member States. Combination of this information will lead to a well-substantiated overview of status, requirements of the players involved and, last but not least, the key R&D-challenges for BIPV.

The BIPV working group focuses its activities on five areas of work:

  • Activity 1: Regulatory EU framework
  • Activity 2: Design aspects / Technical level & Innovation
  • Activity 3: Technical Level/specifications/Building codes
  • Activity 4: Cost targets and competitiveness
  • Activity 5: R&D Challenges: interaction with Building Management systems


Steering Committee

Silke Krawietz SETA Network (Working group Leader)
Jozef Poortmans IMEC (Working group vice Leader)
Franz Karg Avancis
Gaëtan Masson Becquerel Institute
Rutger Schlatmann (HZB) PVcomB
Marko Topic University of Ljubljana UL-FE
Jan Vandesande janConsult
Philippe Malbranche CEA
Eduardo Román Tecnalia


Mehmet Arik Ozyegın Unıversıty
Brigitte Assoa Ya CEA-INES
Bogdan Atanasiu Buildings Performance Institute Europe (BPIE)
Massimo Bastiani Ecoazioni
Frédéric Bonnefoy AGC Glass Europe
Francoise Burgun LITEN
Miguel Centeno Brito University of Lisbon
Michaël Demeyere AGC Glass Europe
Ahmed Ennaoui Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin für Materialien und Energie
Hubert Fechner University of Applied Sciences Technikum Wien
Erik Foss Sean Institute for Energy Technology, IFE, Norway
George E. Georghiou University of Cyprus
Biswajit Ghosh NPAC
Peter Kovacs SP
Tilmann Kuhn Fraunhofer ISE
Ana Rosa Lagunas Alonso CENER
David Larsson Solkompaniet
Bianca Lim ISFH
Erik Stensrud Marstein Norwegian Research Centre for Solar Cell Technology
Christoph Mayr AIT
Matthias Meier IEK5 – Photovoltaik, Forschungszentrum Jülich
David Moser EURAC
Espen Olsen UMB - Norwegian University of Life Sciences
Laure-Emanuelle Perret-Aebi CSEM
Eduardo Román Medina TECNALIA
Dirk Saelens KU Leuven
Torsten Schorch Xella
Niels Schreuder AGC Glass Europe
Oliver Schultz-Wittmann TetraSun
Christian Schwanz Siemens Building Technologies Division
Wendelin Sprenger Fraunhofer ISE
Philipp Strauß Fraunhofer IWES
Berit Time SINTEF
Stathis Tselepis CRES
Juras Ulbikas Europarama
Lennart van Walsum SMA Solar Technology
Luk Vandaele BBRI
Renaud Vignal Arcelormittal
Karsten von Maydell NEXT ENERGY
Helen Rose Wilson Fraunhofer ISE
Tadeusz Zdanowicz Wroclaw University of Technology
Gerhard Zucker AIT Austrian Institute of Technology
PV Secretariat coordinator Sofía Arancón (WIP Renewable Energies): sofia.arancon(at)